User Experience Feedback on Coinbase's Advanced API

I was a user of Coinbase Pro. The ease of use of that API was impressive. I took a break during Coinbase’s transition away from Pro. I’ve come back to find significant difficulties in getting started. This has raised concerns for me about the feasibility of development within this ecosystem.

When you’re in the Advanced Trading Platform, the logical flow to get to the API keys is to click More > Advanced API. The link redirects to Coinbase Advanced Trade API. It always asks me to log in, then redirects me to Coinbase Cloud. This issue persists across multiple browsers (Firefox and Edge). The Advanced API where I can manage Advanced API keys, not in the Cloud product.

The process to create an API key is inconsistent. Despite selecting “all” for accounts and permissions, the system defaults back to only the BTC Wallet after 2FA verification, suggesting a bug. I found that if I select only one Permission, it will let me create the key.

The provided Python API code examples are incomplete and not user-friendly, lacking essential details. This forces users to seek help on forums, which is inefficient and frustrating. I think I’ve figured out how to go through the auth flow only to find that I have a scope error. How do I know which scope I need to call the v3 brokerage/products endpoint?

I’m investigating alternative providers at this point because I do not have confidence in this platform. It would be beneficial if the development team could re-examine the user journey through your API offerings. Perhaps having a new team member navigate the process could provide fresh insights into the user experience challenges and areas for improvement.

Hi @Matt! Welcome to the forum community!
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback!