Introductions - Tell us about yourself and what brings you here!

Hello! This thread is for introducing yourself. We’d like to get to know a bit more about you and what brings you here. I’ll start…

A bit about myself

I’m Larry and I’m a Developer Relations Engineer here at Coinbase. Prior to joining Coinbase, I worked in gaming and on SaaS startups as both a UI and backend software engineer. Over the years, I’ve spent a lot of my free time teaching game development and Python for finance both in person and online.

What excites me about the web3 / crypto space

I think that interesting things occur at the intersection of different disciplines, and have found that crypto intersects with many of my career and personal interests. A few personal examples:

Finance

1. One of the first DeFi apps I tried was Zerion. The experience of connecting my wallet to this dapp for the first time and immediately seeing a full dashboard of my transaction history, all of the digital assets I own, and performance metrics was super cool. Contrast this with traditional finance apps I use like Personal Capital - you have to search for each account, enter your username and password for each of your personal accounts, receive text messages, and wait for each account to sync (which frequently breaks).

2. As someone who creates financial programming tutorials, real-time and historical stock market data is very expensive. When I first experimented with crypto exchange APIs, I loved how quick and easy it was to get free detailed historical price data and connect to real-time websocket data. As someone who primarily does this as a hobby on the weekend, the ability to create a bot that can run any time makes it easier for me to experiment with ideas and analyze real-time price action.

Gaming