Add parameters to redirect_url/cancel_url

Hi

This is my first time working with coinbase and coinbase api overall.

I have used the Stripe API before and there it’s possible to add parameters to the cancel/redirect url like so:

success_url: `${DOMAIN}status?session_id={CHECKOUT_SESSION_ID}`,
      cancel_url: `${DOMAIN}status?session_id={CHECKOUT_SESSION_ID}`,

Stripe automatically fills the {CHECKOUT_SESSION_ID} in.

I’m trying to do the same with Coinbase API (using node and coinbase-commerce-node package)
like so:

redirect_url: `${DOMAIN}status?code={code}`,
      cancel_url: `${DOMAIN}status?code={code}`,

The code variable should be a charge code (like AJRIQ). Is this possible to do with the API? Or are there any other ways to do this?

Hello @MrGigi! Welcome to the forum! We appreciate your enthusiasm in trying out Coinbase APIs.

Just to confirm, you would like to fetch the charge_code in order to add parameters to the redirect_url/cancel_url? If so, you may push a POST request on https://api.commerce.coinbase.com/charges/ endpoint that will create a charge object and the response will return a charge_id and a charge_code.

Additionally, to be able to fetch all the charges made to an account, you may use the List charges endpoint for this.

We hope this helps and again, welcome to the community!

1 Like

Not quite, I’m already pushing a POST request to create a charge:

const chargeData = {
      name: productName,
      description: productDescription,
      pricing_type: "fixed_price",
      local_price: {
        amount: productPrice,
        currency: productCurrency,
      },
      metadata: {
        discordID: req.body.discordid,
        tier: req.body.tier,
        email: req.body.email,
      },
      redirect_url: `${DOMAIN}status?code={code}`,
      cancel_url: `${DOMAIN}status?code={code}`,
    };

const Charge = coinbase.resources.Charge;
    const chargeObj = await Charge.create(chargeData);